The historic Coal House was built in 1933 from 65 tons of bituminous coal. Featured on the game show Jeopardy, American Pickers, National Geographic, and countless other news stories, it is a must see. Open Mon.-Fri. 9:30AM-5:00PM
We are home to the largest off road trail system in the eastern United States, the Hatfield McCoy Trails. Bring your ATV, UTV, dirt bike, or four-wheeler to the mountains and experience wild, wonderful West Virginia. Permits required. Purchase online at www.trailsheaven.com.
Delve into the infamous feud that made history. Sites to visit include the cabin of Anderson Hatfield, cemetery of Devil Anse Hatfield, the McCoy Well, Johnse and Roseanna's baby's grave and more. There's history in them there hills! Pick up a map from the Coal House or the Matewan Depot prior to your adventure.
Laurel Lake is a great spot for the entire family. With a community swimming pool and picnic shelters, it's a great place to spend the day. Additionally, Laurel Lake is stocked regularly with trout and makes the perfect spot to cast a reel.
One of the largest rail yards east of the Mississippi River lies in Williamson, WV, which makes for excellent train watching.
The Tug River boasts some of the best fishing and kayaking in the state. Access docks can be found in both Matewan and Williamson. During the summer, community raft ups are a fun way to relax.
Ride with the spirit of “The Devil” through the hills and hollows of Southern West Virginia, where moonshine and mayhem helped ignite the infamous 19th Century Hat eld-McCoy Feud. Throttle your bike up the tight switchbacks of Horsepen Mountain and loop around the same majestic Poplar tree three times before reaching the mountain’s crest.
Williamson, W. Va., located in a low-lying area bordering Kentucky, flooded 37 times in this century, which devastated the town, it's businesses and residents.Williamson is now guarded by a $41 million floodwall built by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in 1991.
The town of Matewan also has a unique feature that surrounds the entire downtown area – another floodwall. The exterior of the wall tells the history of Matewan through carefully placed vertical fluting that forms an etched mural. This feature is a must-see in town. Visitors walking the path see the art on the floodwall while enjoying the Tug Fork River.
he Dingess Tunnel is a 3,327-foot tunnel in northwestern Mingo County that was built for the original Twelvepole Creek route of the Norfolk & Western (now Norfolk Southern) Railroad in 1892. That route was the N&W main line between 1892 and 1904, when a new rail line opened on better grades along the Big Sandy River. The Twelvepole Creek route later was abandoned. The town of Dingess was a busy place while the Twelvepole line was in use, because goods shipped on the N&W were unloaded there and hauled to other towns in the area by wagonloads. In June 1905, two trains collided in the tunnel and three people were killed. When the N&W changed its route, the Dingess Tunnel fell into disuse. Since 1913, the Dingess Tunnel has been used as a highway tunnel. The tunnel has been the subject of tales about Mingo County’s violent past.